Country snapshot · West Africa
The Gambia
Solar added each year
Ember estimates of all solar (utility-scale, distributed and off-grid), MW. 2026 is Ember’s full-year estimate.
View as tableHide table
| Year | MW | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 20.9 | Ember estimate |
| 2024 | 9.0 | Ember estimate |
| 2025 | 11.9 | Ember estimate |
| 2026E | 13.8 | Ember estimate, full year |
0.1% of Africa’s estimated 2026 solar additions (13.8 of 17,449.4 MW).1
Who has electricity
Share of people with access to electricity, 2024: rural and urban.
View as tableHide table
| Area | Access | Year |
|---|---|---|
| Rural | 39.2% | 2024 |
| Urban | 85.6% | 2024 |
| National | 69.0% | 2024 |
World Bank WDI, 2024.2
How reliable is the grid for business?
Firms experiencing electrical outages (2023 survey), compared with Sub-Saharan Africa and the world.3,4N5
86.9% (2023 survey) · Sub-Saharan Africa 72.4% · World 47.5% (2025)
The rules for small-scale generationN1,N6
Export rules: Partial
- Regulator
- PURA
- Main utility
- NAWEC
Export rulesRenewable Energy Act 2013 provides net metering below 20 kW and a feed-in tariff for 20 kW–1.5 MW; the compact still commits to adopt net-metering guidelines.5–7Medium confidenceShow detail
Renewable Energy Act 2013: net metering below 20 kW; FiT 20 kW–1.5 MW. FiT/net-metering scheme "validated" June 2022. M300 compact still commits to adopt net-metering guidelines by June 2025. PURA stakeholder session on DG & net metering, Mar 2026
How exports are creditedFeed-in producers paid a fixed rate under 15-year PPAs; net-metering credit method not stated.5–7Low confidenceShow detail
FiT producers paid fixed rate (USD 0.25/kWh per Prospect 2022); FiT set in Dalasi/kWh, 15-yr PPA (NARUC). Net-metering credit method not stated
Size limits and licensingUnder 20 kW net metering; 20 kW–1.5 MW feed-in; above 1.5 MW negotiated PPA.5–7Medium confidenceShow detail
<20 kW net metering; 20 kW–1.5 MW FiT; >1.5 MW negotiated PPA
Mini-grid rulesGreen Mini Grid Regulations approved (year not stated).5–7Medium confidenceShow detail
Green Mini Grid Regulations approved (year not stated); RE Act review planned by 2026 re mini-grid tariff cap
Market access beyond the utilityTwo IPPs licensed.5–7Medium confidenceShow detail
Two IPPs licensed; distribution licences "deemed unnecessary"
Aggregation / VPP rulesNone foundShow detail
None found
“None found” means we could not locate a rule in public sources reviewed to 10 October 2026, not that one cannot exist.
Recent developments
Dated developments, 2024–2026.
- Mar 2026
PURA workshop on distributed generation and net metering with the World Bank.5–7
The full report
This is a snapshot. The full story is in Africa’s Invisible Grid.
The full analysis, with 17 exhibits on the boom, the data gap, the economics and the four building blocks, is in Africa’s Invisible Grid.

